Sign in to follow this  
Postes

Common Mac Issues (Fixes And Advice).

Note: I am not a developer, just a Mac user who often has had many issues with Wurm and resolved a lot of those issues, and I know others have similar issues as well but there's limited help for Macs.

I am on Mountain Lion, 10.8.2. The game login screen appears, I log in, and then it poofs.

Apple recently did some changes with Java, and in short Java 7, the version doesn't work with Wurm Online. You have to use Java 6, but you can't install Java 6 on Mountain Lion 10.8.2, so you have to call Wurm Online directly from the Terminal (console) to launch in Java 6.

If by default (most people have this), you downloaded .jnlp to your /Downloads/ folder, just go to the Terminal. (Applications > Utilities > Terminal), and put in this line:

/System/Library/Frameworks/JavaVM.framework/Commands/javaws downloads/wurmclient.jnlp

The game should launch, it may also ask you to create an .app, which is basically a shortcut that you can even place on your Dock, and will work smoothly now once again.

When I try to launch it from terminal I get, "Bad Installation. No JRE found in configuration file."

Just a issue with latest Java, but an easy fix.

Open up Terminal, and put in this line of code:

sudo /usr/libexec/PlistBuddy -c "Delete :JavaWebComponentVersionMinimum" /System/Library/CoreServices/CoreTypes.bundle/Contents/Resources/XProtect.meta.plist

I'm on an older version of OS X such as Snow Leopard, and now I can't run Wurm, it won't even launch!

As of January 2013 Mac has blacklisted Java for security threats and this has effected the launching of the Wurm program. It is important to know that Wurm has absolutely no risks, this is merely a drastic move from Apple. There's a few ways to fix this -- the easiest is going to the Apple.com website, buying the Mountain Lion upgrade ($20 USD), it takes roughly an hour to install and it downloads right off the Internet. Then follow instructions above.