Sign in to follow this  
Brash_Endeavors

How does your garden grow?

Anyone else started a garden this year?

This is my first year at it. I have stuff all over our front deck, some 4-foot circle gardens dug into the lawn and some beds along a retaining wall. Chipmunks raided my deck collection and ate the heads off most of the sunflowers (so i planted more). In addition to all the herbs tomatoes peppers flowers etc I started from seeds in various cups and containers, I made cuttings from around the yard of the house we just moved into this past winter. Turns out the yard is full of wild roses, wild strawberries, wild grapes, wild blackberries so I have been trying my hand at cloning/propagating a bunch more of those all over. Plus some apple tree cuttings. I want blueberries next.

Zone 6a so a late start due to spring snows and frosts that continued into early may, so i am behind most gardeners i think.

I get so jealous at the pictures I see from California and Florida -- up until I remember the sweet cool breezes we get up here in the hills that make every day feel lush and cool.

VjeK3us.jpg FmR4SIE.jpg

Nu6IzzC.jpg

(too small to see, but surrounding the ###### willows in the middle of the 4-foot radius are parsley cilantro rosemary thyme chamomile basil peppermint sage calendula and more)

* kitty cat willows ^_^

Edited by Brash_Endeavors
  • Like 4
  • Cat 1

I have one measly succulent though I think I killed it >.> I need new plants

Going into winter here, so shutting down a bit, and we are currently hamstrung by watering restrictions due to ongoing drought, so no more watering the garden, and therefor no planting new stuff for the coming seasons.

That said, as shops re open after 6 weeks shut down, nation wide,  there has been  mad rush of people to the garden centres, and many new gardens are likely underway).