Sign in to follow this  
Ragnar_Dreadbane

My biggest fear realised- Why private servers suck

So when I started playing this game my greatest concern was that since Rolf doesn't host the server any more your characters very existence is in the hands of someone who has no monitory incentive to keep the server running. So what does make people host? A love of the game surely? But what happens when that honeymoon period runs out? Well, then they stop hosting, and your character ceases to exist.

Aaaand that just happened. Let me preface this by saying I absolutely love this game, it's seriously awesome! 

But BlueFangSolution's London server just decided that after a week to call it quits. 68 Hours of game time totally wasted. Gone. Not only that but I have no way of contacting the guys in my village, who I would like to keep in touch with. It's all really sad, but this situation was foretold by numerous skeptics.

And yes I know they'll be numerous people commenting that I should have just joined Wyvern to begin with (as if that's my fault), but at the time I didn't know that server existed, and when you've made friends and invested time into your village you don't fancy starting over. Lakeside Homestead is- was my home.

I kind of feel this is a fundamental problem of this game's model. I paid £20 for it, and I have no character security at all. In fact 68 hours of my life has completely been deleted. Thanks a bunch. Nothing to show for it. 

If any of the BlueFang guys read this, PM me, I'd love to keep going with you guys.

• Like 2

Wurm online is your only way to make sure your character and items will never be deleted or hosting the server yourself.

Edited by Kegan
  • Like 11

Maybe next time play on a server that has a lot of people on like Wyvern.