Sign in to follow this  
Kammerz

Using GIS to Handle Mob Distribution & Redistribution

Hi,

In real life I work as a Senior GIS Analyst - for anyone who doesn't know what GIS is, I would suggest Googling it.

In a shorter summarized sentence, GIS is basically a tool (for some a science) to analyse data spatially, i.e. based on it's in world location along side layers of other information to effectively create cartographic (fancy maps) outputs, contextual analysis or statistics. The motto being that a map can tell a thousand words.

So with the introduction done I want to suggest a new way of handling mob distribution, and it could possibly be used for resource distribution as well (But i think Xanadu got that covered, not seen many complain about not enough resources)

Please bear with me as I am going to make a lot of assumptions (I am not a game developer :D)

My assumptions:

1) I assume that the database stores the coordinate locations of each and every AI (mob) in the game and also is connected to other various databases which set its characteristics, such as what type of mob it is, how alert it is, aggro range, health, difficulty, strength yada yada yada

2) I assume it is possible to create a selection of AI(mobs) within the database using SQL or another form of database querying language.

3) I assume you also store in the database, the location (coordinates) of every player in the game upon maintenance downtime (as this will be needed within the query)

My idea:

With GIS you can link your GIS software up to any database, whether that be a spatial database or a non-spatial database. So for the techies, an example of that would be QGIS (Free GIS software) with a PostgreSQL database, or even better a PostGIS database.

So now to the meat of the idea...

Basically something like this....

Wurm_Distribution_GIS.jpg