Sign in to follow this  
StrykerZero

Ship Building Questions

So I'm working on ship building and have some questions.  At what ship building skill level should I attempt to make a row boat and then a sail boat?

As far as building the ships securely I've read that a lot of people are building one by one's near the shore and building the ship inside then destroy the writ before the last peice is put in.  Is this the best method?  I've also read about the mine shft with door method but that sounds like more work.  I play on freedom severs, is there a way I can build out in the open without someone coming buy and completing my ship?  Can all ships be dragged to water, is there a body strength requirement?

If I do build in a 1x1 where can I store large items that won't fit in a BSB such as seats?

I've read the wiki but these questions remain un-answered to me.

Thanks

gonna try to answer to your question the best i can. i'm no expert either.

regarding the rowoat and sailboat i beleive you can try at any lvl (mine was about 10 or 12 when i tried rowboat) but at low lvl it might fail more to attach the parts. so takes more time in he end but you get your boat (and improving it helps raise shipbuilding once its done building. it needs to be 10 ql or more to be usable).

for sailboat so long as you got mind logic to comand it i think its the same as rowboat, again might be wrong, i know the materials differ, but regarding needed skill not sure if its a huge difference.

the idea of a 1x1 to build the ships would be good to avoid someone coming by and taking the almost complete ship... i didnt had that issue but i was living in a desert island at the time.