Sign in to follow this  
Aeryck

Use Rake to Harvest

So it turns out that I am a noob and had no idea that a rake was not needed to harvest crops. I knew you used Scythe for harvesting grains and assumed you were using the rake for harvesting other crops. You do not, lol. No activated item is required.

Please change farming so that the rake or another tool is used so that we can benefit from the quality increase from rare. i.e. Rare rake would produce crops one ql higher than your skill level, supreme 2ql, fantastic (because there are so many of those) 3ql higher.

• Like 2

Rake is used for tending and it will increase how many you harvest.  I'm told the rare will increase it more but that is very hard if not impossible to judge.  I do not want to see the rake used in harvesting because then we might also get hit with the well you might get 50q harvest or you might get 80q.  I'm fine with knowing what I am about to get.

Harvesting with a rake gives you farming experience, harvesting without one ("by hand") gives nature experience, so there's the difference.

• Like 4

Every other resource can increase QL by harvesting with a rare (except forage). Why not farming?

What would be the disadvantage?

*reread Pashka post. I guess that would be the drawback; couldn't add the chance for higher ql without the chance for lower ql.

Thanks for the thoughtful responses.

Edited by Aeryck

59 minutes ago, Zakerak said:

great idea and we should have equipped fork in one hand and knife in other hand to be able to eat meals

http://www.wurmpedia.com/index.php/Fork

http://www.wurmpedia.com/index.php/Knife_%28cutlery%29

/sarcasm off

no thanks, why change something (with possible risk of unexpected bad effects), while it works pretty fine for years

I know someone who just made a rare spoon and supreme fork who would be 100% behind this idea.

• Like 1